Home »News


Panaji: October 24, 2018

Kartika 2, 1940 

North Goa District Electoral Officer Shri Levinson Martin convened a meeting of District ICONs today at District Collectorate Office Panaji to sensitize the youths who have completed 18 years and would be completing 18 years by January 01, 2019 to enroll themselves as voters. He said that Principle; Philosophy, spirit and vision of SVEEP lie in empowerment of the citizen to voluntarily register and ethically vote in each and every election and also inculcate responsible democratic awareness.

Shri Martin impressed upon the District ICONs the need to create awareness by various means so that the more and more voters are enrolled. He asked them to give suggestion as to how each one of them can contribute in this important cause. Now voters to be left behind so goes the motto of Election Commission of India and we should aim at fulfilling this motto through SVEEP programme. The Collector asked all the ICONs to cooperate and worked towards this goal.

As part of activities  visit by the Collector & District Electoral Officer alongwith Icons to two Constituencies – Visit by DEO/Icon at the doorstep, Radio Campaign – with messages of the Icons has been planned.

          It has been also  decided to hold a awareness rally in Panaji on October 29, 2018, from Church Square, 18 June Road, upto Vishal Mega Mart, walkup to M.G. Road towards Azad Maidan at 4:00 pm. He appealed all the student NGOs, ICONs to participate in rally in large numbers.

SVEEP Posters were distributed to the Icons, who were enthusiastic to spread the word through Whatsapp, Face Book, etc.

          The Collector &  District Electoral Officer appealed to those who have completed 18 years as on 1.1.2019 to enroll as Electors. It was decided to urge new voters to enroll online at www.nvsp.in.

Additional Collector, Shri Gopal Parsekar, Deputy Collector Shri Tushar Halarnkar and Mamlatdar in Collectorate, Smt. Sapna Bandodkar was also present.

The Icons who attended the meeting, besides public representatives and civil officers were Ms. Sonia Sirsat,  Mr. Tapan Acharya,, Ms. Antonete De Souza, Ms. Suchita Narvekar

Mr. Rajdeep Naik, Mr. Dilip Vaze, Mr. John Aguiar, Information Officer, DIP,  Dr. Gervasio Mendes, SVEEP Nodal Officer for North, Mr. Sudesh Gaude, Asst.Dir. Social Welfare, Ms. Shambhavi Gaonkar,  Rep. of Womes & Child Dev.,Mr. Rolland Martins, GOACAN.