Home »News


                                                             Panjim : May 30, 2018

Goa Legislative Assembly today celebrated Goa Statehood day at a function held at Assembly complex, Porvorim. Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly Dr. Pramod Sawant, Minister for Panchayats Shri. Mauvin Godinho, Minister for Revenue and IT Shri Rohan Khaunte, Minister for water Resources Shri. Vinod Palyekar, MLA and Former Chief Minister Shri. Pratapsingh Rane were present on the occasion.

          Speaking on the occasion, Speaker Shri. Pramod Sawant informed that, Goa Legislative Assembly has organised the event for first time to celebrate Goa Statehood Day and it will be celebrated every year. “The programme, he said is aimed to increase interaction and discourse among legislators beyond regular sittings of the assembly.

Shri. Pratapsingh Rane in his key note address stated that Statehood to Goa has given the state strength to accelerate  development in Education, Infrastructure, Health and other amenities. Goa still prevails with its unique characteristic of social harmony. So far State did not witness major outbreak of violence, its only because people here have faith in religious harmony and peaceful living. Status of Statehood has played a significant role towards maintaining this peace and communal amity, he added.

“Lot has been achieved and still more is yet to be achieved. We need to further progress in every sphere of life. To curtail the menace of plastic garbage is real challenge and it needs to be handle on priority,” Shri. Rane further said.

Shri. Mauvin Godinho stressed that, in order to attain the development in infrastructure and achieve economic growth in the State, people need to support the projects initiated by Central and State Government which aims to uplift living condition of every citizen.

The programme was followed by a panel discussion on the topic  ‘Goa’s Statehood – A Retrospective and Prospective’ in which former Speaker Shri. Rajendra Arlekar, former Union Minister Adv. Ramakant Khalap, Noted Senior Journalists Shri. Sandesh Prabhudessai, Shri. Suhas Belekar participated. The program was moderated by Senior Journalist Shri. Pandurang Gaonkar.

Besides, Senior Legislators of Pre-Statehood period were felicitated on the occasion. Secretary, Goa Legislative Assembly Shri. Nilkant Subhedar gave vote of thanks. Smt. Siddhi Upadhye compered.