Home »News


November 15, 2019

Kartik 24, 1941


Sports Journalist Association of Goa (SJAG) in association with Geno Pharmaceuticals Pvt. Ltd organised the annual ‘Geno Sports Awards 2018-19’ distribution function in the city today. Chief Minister Dr. Pramod Sawant who was the Chief Guest for the function presented the awards. Organising Secretary, SJAG Shri. Glen Costa, President Shri. Mahesh Gaonkar, MD-Chairman of Geno Pharmaceuticals Shri. Dilip Salgaonkar, Executive Director Dr. Sagar D. Salgaonkar, Shri. Sachin Korde were present among others on the occasion.

The Award Winners are Shri. Marcus Mergulao(Best Sports Journalist: Print), Shri. Tulsidas Chari (Best Sports Journalist: Electronic), Shri. Nandesh Kambali (Best Photo Sports Journalist), Govt. College, Quepem (Best College in Sports: Rural), The Goa Medical College and Hospital (Best College in Sports: Men), St. Xavier’s College, Mapusa (Best College in Sports: Women), Goa Boxing Team (Best Team2018-19), Shri. Clifford Miranda (Best Coach), Shri. Suyash Satish Lotlikar (Best Special Sportsperson) and Ms. Shrungi Bandekar (Best Emerging player: Swimming). Ms. Bhakti Kulkarni and Shri. Vaibhav Marathe was awarded for their meritorious performances in the field of Chess and Rally respectively.  

In his address to the gathering, the Chief Minister congratulated and appreciated the team of SJAG and Geno Pharmaceuticals for presenting such awards. The Chief Minister assured that Government will give due credit to all the sports personalities who excel at National level and Award those who bring laurels to the state from next year onwards. “Sport is an essential part of our life. We must play to keep ourselves healthy and active. Children today are more prone to cell phones and television, due to which they suffer through many health issues. It’s a time that we need to find a solution to take out children back to the playground,” the Chief Minister said.

Taking up the issue of school attendance to be given to players/ students who represent the state, the Chief Minister assured to come up with a solution. “Many a time, professional players are students. They face attendance issues. Sometimes they are not allowed to answer the exams too. The Government shall definitely look into the matter and find a solution to this issue.” He also stated that schemes for sports personnel will be launched soon after the National games.

Earlier, the function began by lighting the lamp. Shri. Mahesh Gaonkar welcomed the gathering while Shri. Salgaonkar spoke on the occasion. Shri. Marathe, Ms. Kulkarni and Shri. Lotlikar expressed their views on the occasion. Shri. Glen Costa proposed the vote of thanks.

The function was attended by family members of the awardees, sportsmen, representatives of sports institutions and others.