Home »News


November 15, 2019

The state festival “Tripurari Poornima” was celebrated on November 12, 2019 on the bank of river Valvonti at Vitthalapur Sankhali. The festival was organized by Directorate of Art and Culture, in association with Department of Tourism, Goa Tourism Development Corporation and Department of Information and Publicity, Deepawali Utsav Samithi, and Shree Vitthal Temple Samithi, Vithalapur.

Chief Minister, Dr. Pramod Sawant, Union Minister of State (AYUSH), Shri.ShripadNaik, Minister for Art and Culture, Shri.Govind Gaude,  Chief Election Officer, Shri. Kunal, Dy. Collector Bicholim, Shri. Sachin Dessai, Chief Officer Sankhali Municipal Council, Shri Pravinjay Pandit, Dy. Director Art and Culture, Shri. Ashok Parab, President Zilla Panacyat (North-Goa) Smt. Ankita Navelkar, local Sarpanch Smt. Sushma Sawant, Shri. Satish Dhond, Shri Dattaram Chimulkar, Shri Bhausaheb Rane, members of Deepawali Utsav Samithi and officials of various departments were present on the occasion.


The Art and Culture Department has announced the result of State Level Boat festival which was held Vitthalapur Sankhali. Bhumika Charadeshwar Kala Samitee, Majikwada Parye (Boat No. 24) won first prize, second prize was won  Navyuvak Sangathana, Savoiverem (Boat No. 27), third prize Art Miniya, Mestwada Sankhali (Boat No.8), fourth prize Venture Brothers, Majikwada Parye (Boat No.11) and fifth prize Vaghreshwar, Varchawada Bicholim (Boat No.1). Total 27 boats designed by the participants hailed from different parts of the state, took part in the boat competition sponsored by the Directorate of Art and Culture.  More than ten thousand spectators witnessed this grand and unique traditional festival. The boats were handcrafted using eco-friendly material and were meticulously designed which exhibited the creativity and unique talent of young artists from the state.

The Boat competition was judged by Shri. Deepak Shirodkar, Shri. Omkar Banaule and Shri Rajendra Mardolkar the Asst. Professors from Goa College of Fine Art, Panaji.

The function was compered by Shri Shyam Gaonkar and Smt. Siddhi Prabhu.

It is informed that the date and venue of the prize distribution ceremony of the competition will be informed later.