Home »News


Date: November 15, 2019

      The Annual State Level Painting Completion organized by Powergrid received tremendous response which had participated of 21,545 students from 222 schools participated. 

      Addressing the gathering Chief Guest Smt. Vandana Rao, IAS, Director, Education said that the students have been continuously making significant contribution by spreading awareness on energy conservation and expressed happiness  to see the talent shown by these young budding artists.

      The competition was held in two categories Category A (Std IV to VI) and Category B (Std VII to IX).

      The competition is being organized every year among school students at school level, State Level and then at National Level. The basic scheme of the competition is designed by Bureau of Energy Efficiency, which is the overall co-ordinates of the project.  The Ministry of Power, Government of India takes up yearlong awareness campaign on Energy Conservation all over India.

       Prizes were given to the winners at the hands of Chief Guest. In Category-A Saishwar Vinod Gosavi, won the first place, which had a cash prize of Rs.50, 000/-.  2nd place went to Sankesh Laximan Gaonkar, cash prize of Rs.30, 000/- and Shrey Vitendra Govenkar, was judged at 3rd position, cash prize for Rs.20, 000/-.

       In Category-B,  Vaishnavi Jadhav won the first place, he was awarded cash prize of Rs.50,000/-, 2nd place Vedanshu G Sakhalkar, awarded Rs. 30,000/- and 3rd place  Meghana Hanumathraj Jogar cash prize of Rs.20,000/-. 10 consolation prize winners were awarded Rs.7500/- each in both categories.

       The creative ideas of the students showed the effectiveness of the painting competition in firing the imagination of the young minds. In addition, the competition had the added effect creating awareness among the families of the participating children and amongst the society at large on energy conservation.

       The Chief Guest, Smt Vandana Rao, Director Education was received welcomed by Chief General Manager, Powergrid, Nagpur,  Shri A. Nagaraju.

       Shri G Anil Babu, General, Power Grid, Goa presented the report of the the event.