Home »News


                                                                         Panaji: October 25,2019 

The Tiatr Academy Goa conferred the Lifetime Contribution  to Khell /Khell –Tiatr Awards 2019 Awards to veteran Tiatr  artists at a function held at Patto Panaji, today. The awardees - Shri Luis Mariano Fernandes, Shri  Antonio Remedios Fernandes and Shri Francisco Cardozo were presented awards at the hands of the Minister for Water Resources, Shri Philip Nerry Rodrigues.

Shri  Rodrigues speaking at the function said that Tiatr is popular among the masses and  an effective medium of education to the people.  Tiatr  highlight the day to day  happenings, issues affecting the life of the  people  and the state at large. The contribution of yesteryears tiatrist who laid the foundation of Tiatr needs  to be recognised, he said and urged the  new talent to take it to greater heights .

Shri Rodrigues speaking further said that Tiatr have survived the upheaval time and people in the field have worked hard to improve its standard. 

He appealed to the  Tiatrists not to hesitate to speak the truth and guide the society. The young boys and girls who are stepping into Tiatr is a good sign in terms of the   future of Tiatr, he added.     

The Water Resource Minister released a brochure containing   the details of life and work of the Awardees.

Shri Osvi Viegas, Member of the Selection Committee  thanked Tiatr Academy for honouring, acknowledging the contribution of the persons in Tiatrs. 

 Shri Francisco Cardozo awardee expressed his feelings  thanked the Tiatr Academy and the  Selection Committee.  

MLA Benaulim  Shri Churchill Alemao, Smt. Antonette Moraes wife of Pioneer of Tiatr late Shri Antonio Moraes, Smt. Carmin  Rodrigues, Wife of Father of Tiatr, late Shri Rosario Rodrigues, Tiatr artists, Tiatr lovers  and others attended the function.

Shri Ashok Parab, Deputy Director welcomed the guests. Shri Pradip Naik Programme Officer, compered the function. Shri Cezar Demello, Member Secretary, Tiatr Academy Goa proposed the vote of thanks.

The programme was followed by Konkani musical show presented by Com. Joana and her troupe.