Home »News


                                Panaji: September 13,2019

The Chief Minister, Dr. Pramod Sawant has called upon the teachers fraternity to keep pace with changing trends in education, use of technology, research oriented and accessible to innovations which he said will enable to create future technocrats, professionals etc.

Dr. Sawant was speaking as the chief guest at State Level Teachers Award ceremony organized to commemorate 58th Teachers Day, by the Directorate of Education in the city today. He conferred State Teachers Awards on seven teachers in different categories and congratulated them.

Dr. Sawant said, a teacher should be a teacher for all the time. Every teacher should  always keep oneself updated and refreshed by learning new innovative ideas to enrich education. Most of the times students particularly from rural areas fail to choose right option of their career leading to drop outs. This an area where teachers have to pay attention. He urged the teachers to adopt new innovative ideas to enhance education.   The Government intends to provide computer labs to Government schools under new scheme so as to bring revolution in the field of education for which he said  we have to work with responsibility.

Secretary Education Smt. Neela Mohan IAS, while addressing the gathering said Goa is among few states which is recognised and known  for good indicators in health education etc. The recipients who have  earned awards is the result of their years of dedicated services. She suggested the teachers to opt for adapting new techniques to keep standard of education high in the State . She appreciated the staff of Education Department who are working to keep this track record in education and eventually congratulated the awardees.

Shri Sudin Fati Naik Headmaster, Shri Prakash N. Gaonkar, Sr. Meena Dias  and others spoke on the occasion     

The recipients of State Teachers Awards are Shri Prakash Narayan Gaonkar and Smt. Surekha Damodar Pagui who received awards in Government Primary School teachers category from North & South districts respectively. Shri Shivdas Waman  Kauthankar received award in Secondary School teachers category. Sr. Meena Dias received award in Special Teachers category, while Shri Vijaykumar B. Kopre Desai received  award in Secondary School teachers category,  where as the awards  in Head Masters category were won by Shri Sudan Fati Naik and Shri Nilu Putu Jalmi from North and South Goa districts  respectively.

Chairman GEDC, Shri Kanta Patnekar, Chairman Goa Board,  Shri Ramkrishna Samant, Director of Technical Education Shri Vivek Kamat were among those who attended the function.

Smt. Vandana Rao, Director of Department of Education welcomed the guests.