Home »News


Panaji, September 12, 2019

The Directorate of Education, Higher Education and Technical Education will be felicitating meritorious teachers with State Awards 2018-19 to commemorate 58th Teacher’s Day on September 13, 2019 at Institute Menezes Braganza Hall, Panaji in the esteemed presence of Chief Minister Dr. Pramod Sawant as Chief Guest.

The teachers who will be honoured with state awards are Shri Prakash Narayan Gaonkar, B.A. D.Ed, Primary Teacher Govt. Primary School, Bhuipal Sattari, for last 27 years service in cadre. He is the President of Goa Rajya Prathamik Shikshak Sangh.

Ms. Surekha Damodar Pagi, B.A. D.Ed. Primary Teacher, Govt. Primary School Katta Amona Quepem, for last 29 years service in cadre. She tried to develop self reliance among the students and tried to make all round development of the students. she also tried to literate the girls from the Dhangar Community during the night time for two hours. She was awarded “Shikshan Bhushan  Puraskar.

Shri. Shivdas Waman Kauthankar, B..A./M.A.. B.Ed., Asstt. Teacher, Govt. High School, Shirodwadi, Mulgao, Bicholim, for last 31 years 9 months  service in cadre. He has written two books books namely Bal Sanskar Katha, Prayog Karuya Gharacha Ghari and Samaj Hitachya Janivetun.  He was nominated as Best Teacher by Ravindra Bhavan, Sankhali.

Sr. Meena Dias S.F.N., M.A. D.Ed. in Special Education, Special Educator, St. Xavier’s Academy, Kadamba Road, Old Goa, for last 28 years service in cadre. She has dedicated herself in education of special children for over nearly three decades. She actively involves personally in the growth of special children’s educational and personality development. She has been felicitated by the Rotary Club for her dedicated and committed services in the field of education.

Shri. Vijaykumar Babusso Kopre Dessai, M.A. B.Ed., Assistant Teacher, Pope John XXIII High School, Quepem for last 23 years service in cadre. As a Scout Master he always remains close to students by hosting camps at National and State Level. He used different techniques and remedial practices to reach out to special students.

Shri.  Sudan Fati Naik Gaonkar, M.A. B. Ed. M.Ed., Headmaster, Govt. High School, Agarwada, Pernem, for last 24 years 11 months service in cadre. He motivated teachers to register themselves for free online training programme.

Shri. Nilu Putu Jalmi, B.Sc. B.Ed, Headmaster, Surashree Kesarbai Kerkar High School, Keri Ponda, for last 36 years service in cadre. He was awarded Best Teacher Award by Avishkar Social and Educational Foundation Kolhapur.