October 25, 2023

The Department of Information and Publicity has announced the Goa State Journalists Awards selected by the State Journalists Awards Committee.

Government of Goa through the Department of Information and Publicity is instituting awards namely, “The Goa State Journalist Awards” which are conferred in ten categories for news items and articles published during the previous calendar year. The award carries a cash prize of Rs. 25,000/- each in different category besides a certificate and a memento.

It may be noted that the Goa State Journalist Awards scheme is devised to encourage local journalists to exhibit their talents as regards to penning good stories, gain confidence, thus resulting in creating mass awareness in the society.

The Best Editor Award on National Integration and Communal Harmony has been bagged by Shri Pandurang Gaonkar, Editor, Goan Varta, for his Editorial “राजकारणातला भ्रष्टाचार थांबणार कसा ?”. The award in Rural Reporting has been bagged by Shri Murari Shetye of Times of India for his reports ‘Sattari Resident goes from poring pegs of liquor to poring over books.

The award for Reporting in Health and Public Hygiene has been bagged by Ms Danuska Da Gama of Navhind Times for her report “Dealing with Dementia”. The award for Reporting with special reference to Women and Child/ Social issue has been bagged by Shri Vivek Prabhu from Prudent Media for his report ‘Disabled but self reliant. Shri Marcus Mergulhao from Times of India bagged the award in Sport Reporting for his report ‘Blinded by fate, 17 year old champion athlete from Usgao sets sights on international stage’. The award on Reporting on Art and Culture has been bagged by Ajay Lad from Goan Varta for his report ‘सांगे -पणसायमळ येथील कातळशिल्पे जगाच्या नकाशावर.

The award in Photo Journalism (Best Photograph of the year) is bagged by Shri Hemant Parab, Navhind Times, for his picture ‘A worker dangerously stands on the structure meant for hoardings on a streetlight pole along the Gaundalim Khandola road. The award on Reporting on Education has been bagged by Shri Swapnil Tari from Prudent for his report ‘ Coconut Drone’, The award on Reporting on achievement of the Government has been bagged by Ms Gauree Malkarnekar from Times of India for her report “In mining belt,Goa food processing units turn homebakers into breadwinners.

The prestigious Life time achievement Award was awarded to Shri Pramod Khandeparkar, Veteran Journalist for his dedicated service towards Journalism. This award is awarded after the retirement from the service of journalist.

The awards will be presented on the occasion of National Press Day function to be held on November 16, 2023 in the city.

The State awards committee comprises of Shri Sudhir Sabnis, Senior Journalist, Shri Mukesh Thali, Writer and News reader cum translator (Retired) and Shri Milind Mahdgut, Professor (Retired) and writer as judges.


Skip to content