Home»press realease

Dated:  25-January-2018


January 25, 2018

Magha 5, 1939


          8th National Voters Day was celebrated at state level function by the Chief Electrol Officer’s Office, Goa in association with North Goa Collectorate, Panaji at Institute Menezes Braganza hall in Panaji today. Governor Dr. Smt. Mridula Sinha was the Chief Guest for the function while State Election Commissioner Shri. R.K. Srivastava IAS (Retd) was the Guest of Honour and Chief Secretary Shri. Dharmendra Sharma IAS was the special invitee. Also present on the occasion were South Goa Collector and  District Magistrate, Smt. Anjali Sehrawat IAS and Additional Chief Election Officer Shri. Narayan Navati.

                    In her address, the Governor stated that election is a birthright of every adult and casting vote is fundamental. “India has always practiced democracy and hence, keeping it strong is our duty”. “Cast your vote carefully and never get influenced by anybody,” the Governor asked the young voters.

Chief Secretary Shri. Sharma IAS congratulated the Office of Chief Electrol Officer for the awards and said that the awards depict their ability not only to take on new opportunities but to accomplish them successfully. “This day reminds us of the need to invest and care about national democratic processes, especially to the young voters. The alertness and awareness of the young voters will be the foundation of democratic India,” he said.  

          Shri. R.K. Srivastava elaborated on election process. “National Voters Day is a noble day in our country and a voter is the bedrock of the democracy. Once a person is 18 years old, he/she must enrol himself/herself in the electoral roll. Proper information given by the voter will make a fair and clean electoral roll,” he said. He also stressed on the responsibilities of the citizens to ensure in making a strong democracy.

          Speaking on the occasion Shri. Navati said that the day is blessed day for the state as it is being bestowed with many achievements. “Goa is the first state in India which has been honoured with four awards i.e. innovations in Elections, for conducting best election, for security arrangements and best electoral roll management.” He informed that the Election Commission of India has come up with innovative ideas such as BLO Net, a mobile App for BLOs to register voters and house linkage. “Goa is the first state in the country to implement this app. Divyang booths managed by Divyang staff was a huge success and receive accolades.” He asked all the stakeholders to work with honesty and dedication to be the No.1 state in India.  

The function commenced with lighting the traditional lamp which was followed by the welcome address by Smt. Sehrawat IAS. The Governor, on this occasion presented various awards to the staff of election commission and students. Shri. Dharmendra Chari, a Divyang staff who managed the Divyang booth during the Assembly Polls was felicitated. The 12- Taleigao Constituency was honoured with an award for successful utilization of the BLONet mobile application. A book by Smt. Isha Sawant ‘Bhirmut, the Dragon fly’ was also released.

          Participants of the State Level Election Quiz Competition Mast. Nafiz Shaikh (Union High School), Mast. Eric Fernandes(St. Joseph High School, Calangute), Mast. Suraj Malik (V.R. Gawas High School, Sankhali) and Kum. Parthavi Patnekar(Shri. Shantadurga Higher Secondary School, Bicholim) along with the Zonal level winners, Mast. Sachin Panikar and Kum. Aslesha Naik of People’s High School, Smt. Netrawalkar and Shri. Naguesh Sardessai, Principal and teacher of People’s Higher Secondary School were felicitated.

          The awards for Best Electoral Registration Officer (ERO) were given to Shri. Gurudas Dessai, Shri. Sudhir Kerkar, Shri. Mahadev Arondekar and Shri. Paresh Faldessai while the awards for best Assistant Electoral Registration Officer (AERO) were given to Smt. Isha Sawant, Shri. Jitendra Bugde, Shri. Dalal and Smt. Evlina Pereira. Awards for Best Booth Level Officer (BLO) were bestowed upon Shri. Santosh Kunkaliekar, Kum. Tejasri Warak, Shri. Premanand Girap and Shri. Jose Alixo Gomes. Smt. Varsha Parab, Mamletdar of Tiswadi, Shri. Rajesh Raiker, UDC, Smt. Sangeeta Parab, Shri. Sagar Sirsat and Shri. Nilesh Satarkar, LDCs were honoured for their meritorious performances in the election process.

          Kum. Manasi Walve compered the function while Shri. Vikas S.N. Gaunekar proposed the vote of thanks.