Home »News


Results of State Level Photo Contest Declared

                                                                             Panaji, November 13, 2020

        Chief Minister, Dr. Pramod Sawant will inaugurate the National Press Day celebrations at a function to be held at 10:30 a.m. on November 16, 2020 at Institute Menezes Braganza, Mini Conference Hall, Panaji 

          The day has been observed every year to coincide with the foundation day of the Press Council of India.

         November 16 – is symbolic of a free and responsible press in India -. the day when Press Council of India started functioning as a moral watchdog to ensure press maintain the high standards and also ensure that they don’t fetter by the influence or threats of any extraneous factors.

         Shri Sanjay Kumar (IAS) Secretary, Information and Publicity will be the guest of honour.

          The Department of Information and Publicity in collaboration with the Goa Editors’ Guild, the Goa Union of Journalists, Photo Journalists Association Goa, Electronic Media Journalists Association, Sports Journalists Association, and South Goa Journalists Association will organise the event.
          On the occasion, Journalists - Shri Wilfred Pereira, Shri Suresh Vadavadekar, Shri Anant Salkar, Shri Suresh Naik and Shri Soiru Komarpant will be felicitated at the hands of Chief Minister Dr. Pramod Sawant for enormous their contribution in the field of journalism. Awards Goa State Photo Contest and Exhibition Scheme too will be presented to the winners on the occasion.

The Department of Information & Publicity had also conducted Goa State Photo Contest and Exhibition Scheme -2014 as part of the forthcoming National Press Day, 2020.


The Photo Competition was held in two different categories – category-1 - ‘conserving environment for ecology and category-2’ Infrastructure and allied facilities to contain Covid-19.


The first prize in both categories has been bagged by Shri Rajtilak Naik, President of Goa Union of Journalist and Senior Photographer attached to Times of India (Goa Edition). In category-1under the topic ‘Conserving Environment for Ecology’, the second and third prize was bagged by Shri Narayan Pissurlenkar and Shri Mayur Naik respectively. The five consolation prizes under the category were bagged by Shri Shubham V. Neugi, Shri Arunabh Bhattacharjee, Shri Shailendra Naik, Shri Sapnesh Tawadkar and Shri Ganesh Shetkar respectively.


Under category -2 on the topic ‘Infrastructure and allied facilities to contain Covid-19’ the second prize was bagged by Shri Upendra Naik and third prize was bagged by Shri Amey Naik. Consolation prizes under category 2 were bagged by Shri Ganesh Shetkar, Narayan Pissurlekar and Shri Arunabh Bhattacharjee


        The State Scrutiny Committee comprised of Shri Prasad Pankar, an eminent Photographer; Shri Willy Goes, Prof, College of Art and Shri Sylvester Estibeiro, Senior Photographer from Department of Information and Publicity Judged the contest.