Home »News


Distributes sanction letter to beneficiaries


October 7, 2020

Aswina 15, 1941

Chief Minister Dr. Pramod Sawant today attended the 100th Task Force Committee (TFC)meeting of Chief Minister’s Rojgar Yojana (CMRY) and distributed sanction letters to beneficiaries at a function held at the EDC house in Panaji today. The EDC has sanctioned 66 beneficiaries under this scheme.    

Chairman of EDC Shri. Sadanand Shet Tanawade, Managing Director Shri. Kiran Ballikar, Chairman of Task Force Shri. Satardekar were also present on the occasion.

Addressing the gathering, the Chief Minister lauded EDC and its staff for their dedication towards work. “EDC is perhaps the only corporation who has always been in profit and have helped the Government financially during the pandemic. It has till date encouraged more than 7000 Goans by providing loans under CMRY. It also played a pivotal role in upbringing Goa’s infrastructure by developing the Patto Plaza. I congratulate its staff for their efforts and dedication, and extend my best wishes in all their future endeavors,” the Chief Minister said.

In his welcome address, Shri. Tanawade informed that EDC is planning to utilize the unutilized land at Patto to make a recreation centre. “The land is presently being used to dump garbage; however it will be cleaned by the Goa Solid Waste Management Corporation soon. The recreation centre will be a tourist attraction as well as serve as a leisure destination for locals. The center shall consist of a play area, an array of Goan food and cuisine and handicraft stalls. It shall cater employment to Goan youth and will encourage Goan entrepreneurs and artisans.

Earlier Shri. Angle gave a PowerPoint presentation about the recreation centre while Shri. Pathaan presented a detailed report about CMRY scheme. The Chief Minister also presented the settlement letters to the employees of Gaula India Pvt Ltd.